Episode 23: Kevin van den Elzen

In this episode, my guest is drummer Kevin van den Elzen. We discuss the scene in Los Angeles, why he chose to move there and what that has meant for his career, as well as his love for Big Band music.

Kevin recommended Kenny Werner's book "Effortless Mastery", that you may remember was previously recommended by Bobby Petrov in episode 3 of the show!

Please visit Kevin's website to find his tour dates and to purchase any of his music.

Music featured in this episode:


"Take it Day by Day" live at the Bimhuis on 06/10/2017.
     Kevin van den Elzen - drums, composition
     Ben van Gelder - alto saxophone
     Mike Lebrun - tenor saxophone
     Adam Hersch - piano
     Max Kraus - bass

"Hero with a thousand faces" by the Dutch Concert Big Band live at the Grachtenfestival on 16/08/2018.
     Vince Mendoza - composer
     Jasper van Damme, Donald Simoen, Bernard van Rossum, Joao Driessen and Jessie BrevĂ© - saxophones
     Jos van den Heuvel, Peter Keijsers, Matthias Konrad and Bart van Gorp - trombones
     Ywo Lamonaca, Florian Sperzel, Coos Zwagerman, Gidon Nunez Vaz and Jan-Willem te Kiefte - trumpets
     Koen Schalkwijk - piano
     Durk Hijma - guitar
     Tobias Nijboer - bass
     Kevin van den Elzen - drums

Episode 18: Marike van Dijk

In this episode, saxophonist, composer and bandleader Marike van Dijk is on the show to talk about a new album by her ensemble the Stereography Project. We discuss how she got into writing for large ensembles, her collaboration with singer songwriters Jeff Taylor and Katell Keineg, and working with both Amsterdam and New York based bands.

Marike recommended Emma Frank's album "Ocean av", as well as the band Breastfist's new record "Amuse Deuce".

Please go to Marike's website to find her tour dates, more info, and to purchase any of her music.

Music featured in this episode:

photo by Lily Chen

photo by Lily Chen

"Paper Thin" from the album The Stereography Project feat. Jeff Taylor and Katell Keineg.
Jeff Taylor - Vocals, Guitar
     Marike van Dijk - Alto Sax
     Anna Webber - Flute / Tenor Sax
     Lucas Pino - Clarinet / Tenor Sax
     Jay Rattman - bassclarinet / Alto Sax
     Alan Ferber - Trombone
     Sita Chay - Violin
     Meg Okura - Violin
     Eric Lemmon - Viola
     Susan Mandel - Cello
     Manuel Schmiedel - Piano
     Rick Rosato - Bass
     Colin Stranahan - Drums

"There You Go" from the album The Stereography Project feat. Jeff Taylor and Katell Keineg.
Katell Keineg - Vocals, Guitar,
     Marike van Dijk - Alto Sax
     Charlotte Greve - Flute/Alto Sax
     Maarten Ornstein - Clarinet/Tenor Sax
     Ben van Gelder - Bassclarinet
     Matthias Konrad - Trombone
     Jasper van Rosmalen - Violin
     Annelieke Marselje - Violin
     Rani Kumar - Viola
     Amber Docters van Leeuwen - Cello
     Manuel Schmiedel - Piano
     Sean Fasciani - Bass
     Mark Schilders - Drums